by Lindsey Jo Riley/ Photos by Shea Jarman (Groovelive)

Celebrating its 11th anniversary of raising funds and awareness for nonprofit organizations, The Take Action Tour sponsored by Hopeless Records‘ nonprofit Sub City rose over $95,000 for the It Gets Better Project this year. Also impressive was this year’s lineup including  headliner The Used, We Came As Romans, Crown The Empire, and Mindflow. Sub City has raised over $2 million for charity over the past 11 years, and this year was one of the biggest years in Take Action Tour history.

The It Gets Better Project is a national organization created to show young LGBT people the levels of happiness, potential, and positivity their lives will reach – if they can just get through their teen years. In addition, the official drum set used on the tour was auctioned off, and 100 percent of the proceeds benefited the charity and The Living The Dream Foundation equally. takeaction

Kicking off at in Las Vegas at the House of Blues on January 11, the annual nationwide charity tour circled the U.S. through February, showcasing some of the best bands in music today while raising funds and awareness for It Gets Better Project while also emphasizing the concept that we can all help play a part in making a positive impact. Ten percent of the cost of each ticket purchased was donated to It Gets Better and Sub City. Lead singer of The Used, Bert McCracken, tells us, “The Take Action Tour has been an incredible experience that will be impossible to forget. Thirty-three shows from the east coast to the west coast of the US; and the positive energy has been contagious. We want to thank Hopeless Records and the It Gets Better Project for inspiring not only us, but thousands of others as well. We are blown away by the insane amount of love and support that still exists for The Used after nearly twelve years on the road. After all these years, The Used still have the best fans in the world, by far! Thanks again, see you soon Used fans!”

betterprojectIn addition, Hopeless Records/Sub City have presented the Take Action Compilation Volume 11, a compilation album for charity. This year features two CDs full of unreleased and exclusive tracks from The Used, Bad Religion, AWOLNATION, All Time Low, 3OH!3, and many more. Five percent of the suggested retail price from the sale of this compilation will go to continue to fulfill Sub City’s mission to connect bands, fans, and causes about which they are passionate.

For the most current donation total and full list of charities benefiting from this and other Sub City releases, please click here.

Take Action Vol. 11 Track Listing:


1. The Used – The Lonely*

2. We Came As Romans – Fair-weather*

3. AWOL Nation – Sail  (Unlimited Gravity Remix)*

4. Bad Religion  – Fuck You*

5. The Wonder Years  – Local Man Ruins Everything (Nervous Energies)*

6. Mayday Parade –  Oh Well, Oh Well

7. Falling in Reverse – The Drug In Me Is You

8. Enter Shikari – Warm Smiles Do Not Make You Welcome Here (Tek One Mix)*

9. Whitechapel – Animus

10. Periphery – Far Out (Instrumental)*

11. Sleeping With Sirens  –  James Dean & Audrey Hepburn (Acoustic


12. All Time Low – The Reckless & The Brave (Acoustic)*

13. Never Shout Never – Pray For Peace (Demo)*

14. 3OH!3 – You’re Gonna Love This (Wuki Remix)*

15. The Summer Set – Fuck U Over

16. Say Anything – Their Notions


1. Glass Cloud – Everybody Wants To Rule The World*

2. Ice Nine Kills – What I Never Learned in Study Hall (6 Feet Below)*

3. Memphis May Fire –  Prove Me Right

4. Upon This Dawning – A New Beginning

5. Parkway Drive – Dark Days

6. SHARKS – Sea Of All Seas*

7. Balance & Composure – Quake

8. Silver Snakes – All My Eye*

9. Broadway Calls – Bring On The Storm*

10. We Are The Ocean – Machine

11. Transit – Skipping Stone (Alternate Version)

12. Seahaven –  Understanding*

13. Set It Off – Dream Catcher

14. I Am The Avalanche –  I’ll Be Back Around

15. The Scene Aesthetic – Carelessly (feat. Dresses)*

16. Plug In Stereo – I Hope You Know (feat. Tay Jardine)*

17. William Beckett – 48 In A Hospital *

18. Itch – London Is Burning*

19. Twin Atlantic –  Make A Beast Of Myself (Space Brother Remix)*

20. The Animal In Me – Speak*

21. Hell Or Highwater – Come Alive (Acoustic)*

22. Palisades – Bury It (Acoustic)*

* denotes rare or unreleased

“Take Action Compilation Volume 11” is available at Best Buy and iTunes, and here:

For more information on Take Action Tour, please visit:

For more information on It Gets Better, please visit:


Lindsey Jo Hand (12 Posts)